Reviews

All of the 50 Reviews below are from VRBO/HomeAway, where we used to process most of our bookings. VRBO.com/484410 if you’d like to verify.

 

W.O.W

 

The perfect secluded getaway. We totally enjoyed the quiet, relaxing and beautiful white sandy beach. If you are looking to kick back and enjoy the beach, this is the place to be. For some entertainment we went to Margarittaville when the cruise ships were in port. First time we rode bicycles, OMG it was a far, exhausting ride. However, GOOD exercise which was needed! The next trip to Margaritaville was by GOLF cart. Lots of fun and visited Governer’s beach – what could we say, AWESOME. We purchased food to cook at the bungalow and enjoyed a dinner at Bohio. The water is gorgeous and since we are much the beachgoer, the bungalow was a perfect place to be. The town of Grand Turk is not a big resort style atmosphere but a small island with its own charm. I believe the only thing we could say to improve our stay would be that the beach, since close to a cruise ship destination stop, there was a lot of broken glass bottles and wandering cruise people roaming around. We love the donkeys, they did open the front gate (pretty funny); and the homeless dogs are well behaved (we are animal lovers)….. Thanks Drew for letting us spend our pre-Xmas vacation at your place. Miri, Jennifer and Brenda

  • Stayed: December 2015

  • Submitted:

  • Source: VRBO

Would come back again and again…

We stayed on the large side of the bungalow for one week, just my Wife and I for a very low key anniversary vacation. The accommodations are as pictured. The home is well maintained and has all the things you need. As many mentioned, the beach is steps from your back door and is wonderfully quiet (even when cruise ships are in). The water is very clear and has every shade of blue you want to see in the Turks and Caicos water. The location is great for the best of both worlds for a meal; head north about 400 yards to the Bohio and have a very nice meal at their restaurant or head south maybe 200 yards to where the fisherman come in and buy freshly caught fish (we did both!) and cook in either the fully stocked kitchen or on the charcoal grill. We were lucky enough to not have anyone staying on the other side of the unit, so we really had a private stay – but I don’t think it would have bothered us one bit if another family was next door the way the back porch is separated. We always felt safe on the island and in the house. We would bring our young children here without question. We highly recommend Grand Turk and The Beachside Bungalow – we can’t wait to go back!

  • Stayed: November 2015

  • Submitted:

  • Source: VRBO

Lovely villa in a beautiful setting

My daughter and I shared the smaller property during a week’s dive trip. The villa was lovely, cooled by fresh sea breezes during the day and a/c during sleeping. The villa has a distinct charm and a stupendous view of sunset from the back deck. Each night was spectacular.

  • Stayed: December 2015

  • Submitted:

  • Source: VRBO

Worth The Money

My family stayed a week in December 2015 and had a blast. The bungalow is steps from the Pillory Beach. The beach was beautiful and the texture of the sand was incredible. The color of the water was also unbelievable–many variations of blue and green. The bungalow was nicely appointed and if you choose to eat a few meals in, there are nice utensils and pots and pans to accommodate. Restaurants are walking distance or there are bikes to ease the travel. There is a washer and dryer on site so don’t overpack. Steps off the beach there’s an incredible coral reef teeming with plants, fish and other animal life that are astounding. Only beef was Wifi was spotty but I think it’s an island thing and nothing unique to the bungalow.

  • Stayed: December 2015

  • Submitted:

  • Source: VRBO

With no doubts, the best place in grand turk

We just got back from an amazing week in Grand Turk. We are a family from Italy with two jung children age 3 and 5. We all love it. First of all the beach bungalow is very stylish, super equipped and on a great beach. The beach was always empty, basically all for us. Even when the cruises where in, no one was coming in front of our house and we almost didn’t notice them on the beach. Grand Turk is a funny place… we didn’t want to get in the crowd, and here you definitely stay out of it, but when the Cruises are in, the island from a remote place became a little amusement park. All local people are very nice and helpful. We took a boat trip (the one recommended by Drew and was awesome. The water is crystal clear, you swim with stings ray and had beautiful snorkelling! I have to say that it took a little way to get used to the island pace and to the “non touristic” attitude (except for cruises) but we had wonderful dinners at both hotels in the island. I recommend to rent a golf cart and explore. It is very tempting to stay just on your great beach, but, exploring the island is worth it. Governor beach for example has great water… we discovered it just the last day and regretted not to have been there before. Also the lighthouse is very nice and I recommend to go once with the cruise and after without, at sunset… I have to say that at the beginning we had expectation of a more “resort” style island, and it took a little bit to understand the island, so I recommend to come with the right attitude, don’t be scared by local houses that are not always “brand new” and don’t expect to have a whole food as a supermarket, but just enjoy this little paradise where the see has colours that only a painter can immagine!

  • Stayed: August 2015

  • Submitted:

  • Source: VRBO

Perfect Escape!

My boyfriend and I just came back from our 8 night stay at the bungalow…we could not come up with enough good things to say about it!! Wow…that view!! Perfect way to escape from real life stress and just relax. The bungalow has everything you could possibly need. Make sure you bring water shoes, sea urchins on beach right behind the house. Make sure you explore the island! All the locals we came in contact with were friendly and helpful if you needed anything. Make sure you check out the fish market! Great food at the Sandbar and The Salt Raker Inn. We will definitely be back!! Best vacation we have been on yet…and not just because we got engaged on our last night!! We loved the bungalow.

  • Stayed: July 2015

  • Submitted:

  • Source: VRBO

Great place, but not as private as it could be

We stayed in the smaller of the 2 bungalows which was plenty of room for the 2 of us. The bungalow is fantastic with 2 bdrm, 2 bthrm and great back porch with outdoor lounges & hammock. A great breeze comes through the place if you open the front door and back doors, as the owners ask you to only use the bedroom aircon for sleeping, which we were fine with. The bikes were fantastic and the best way to get around the island. Looking at the roads I was a bit concerned for the welfare of my behind riding on the bikes, but they have surprisingly great suspension. You are located within walking distance to restaurants and grocery stores and to where the local fishermen come in between 4/5 pm with their catch. Barbies is a must, especially for the fried conch and peas and rice. The bungalow also provides you with snorkling gear and you can go straight out from the back of the house, or turn right and walk up the beach to the resort with the red umbrellas and there is great snorkling there. The only negative is the cruise ship bar party venue next door. The cruise ship patrons and the staff were fine. Yes, caribbean party music plays all day long, and fairly loud, but we didn’t mind so much as we would get out and explore the island a lot. If you plan on staying at the bungalow all day and just relaxing this might be an issue for you. My issue was with the local boys ( 6 of them) who would sit between our private beach and the cruise centre with their horses and try to sell horse rides up and down the beach to the cruise patrons. We were the only 2 people at both bungalows for the entire week we were there and thought we would have total use of the beach and 2 huts in the back yard, but the local boys would use one to sit under and drink and to tie the horses under. One day I came home from a bike ride and both huts were occupied with 2 horses seeking shelter under each hut, so I couldn’t use them. Also, the horses would relieve themselves under the huts and leave a great mess for me to have to scoop up with the shovel from the shed in the mornings. I didn’t feel comfortable sunning myself with these boys hanging around so close & with a horse 3m away from me, plus they would stay for the entire time the centre was open (8 am -4pm). Without these local boys, it would feel alot more private & secluded and I would have felt comfortable sunning myself at the beach right our the back of the bungalows. Such a shame as this really is a great place

  • Stayed: June 2015

  • Submitted:

  • Source: VRBO

Recommended for: Families with young children, Girls getaway, Tourists without a car, Romantic getaway, Families with teenagers

Owner response: Problem solved, but not soon enough. We are so sorry you had an unpleasant beach experience, but it is my fault. I had seen the horse guys there about 2 months ago, befriended them, and offered that if there was no one at our house they could water their horses. Unfortunately they took complete advantage of me and my offer and overran the beach with their horses. We have since cut off the water usage and moved the palm shade umbrellas inside our fence. The tourist board officials have been notified and the guys have moved on down the beach from being directly in front of our house. So sorry we didn’t catch this right away and keep you from having to deal with it. Glad you had a fantastic time otherwise.

 

Wonderful Experience

 

Beachside Bungalow is the perfect place for a relaxing vacation to get away from the real world. There were 8 of us in our group, and I couldn’t imagine a better housing setup for 4 couples. It provided the perfect week-long summer getaway for us all. Below are some tips/recommendations/observations. – Beachside Bungalow provides the best of both worlds on the island, as it’s a very private location that’s within distance of a lot of the local people and sights. – The water was perfect during our late-June stay. – The washer/dryer is extremely handy – Take advantage of Beachside Bungalow’s back porch in the evenings – the sunset view is spectacular! – Rent a golf cart. – The Bungalow is within walking distance of our favorite restaurant for dinner (Bohio). It takes atleast an hour for the food to arrive at the table, but the music, outdoor setting, and drinks provide relief – we didn’t mind the wait at all. You can either walk up the beach to Bohio or take a golf cart. – A great lunch spot call Konky Joe’s is also within a street walk or golf cart ride. The conch fritters and conch bites are VERY good and the entire menu is very inexpensive. I wish we would have tried Konky Joe’s early in the week. – Highly recommend water shoes for the beach. The Sea Urchins and Coral will cut up your feet if you aren’t careful. – Locals bars and beer/liquor stores are willing to give you a little wiggle room on the prices most of the time. It’s pretty easy to bargain down to $2.50 for a beer that is advertised as $3.50. Overall, we were extremely satisfied with our experience at Beachside Bungalow and hope to return some day!

  • Stayed: June 2015

  • Submitted:

  • Source: VRBO

Kick your feet up and relax!

 

The Bungaloo was a great place for a getaway from the daily grind of everyday life! The home had everything we needed to be able to take our minds and live on island time! The location is perfect! You can watch the sunrise and sunset everyday off the back porch. Also, there are nearby restaurants an easy walk down the beach. The home was well equipped with everything you need to relax including an outside porch, large couches, and a dinner table for a night if you want to stay in. The home also has cable in case you just “have to” watch the US Open on vacation :).

  • Stayed: June 2015

  • Submitted:

  • Source: VRBO

Fabulous week with friends!

 

My husband and I joint three of my college friends and their husbands/boyfriends for a week in Grand Turk. The bungalow was the perfect location and layout for our couples’ retreat! The home is spacious and gave each couple their own bedroom and bathroom. However, we spent most of our time on the back porch and at the beach. (We rented both sides to comfortably accommodate 8 adults.) The bungalow is located near all of the grocery stores on the island making cooking at home easy. It’s also near several restaurants which was convenient because we ate out most of our meals. Bikes are available with the house and perfect for daytime touring, but I recommend renting a golf cart for your stay. You can easily pile groceries on the cart and use this at night when returning from dinner. The only time we used a car service was going to and from the airport. Additionally, there are several snorkeling and deep sear fishing options on the island. We booked both through Crystal Seas Adventures. They pick you up on the water very near the bungalow making it very convenient. It was a fabulous weekend full of relaxation, adventure, and memorable moments!

  • Stayed: June 2015

  • Submitted:

  • Source: VRBO

The MOST Relaxing Week for a Couple’s Retreat

Our week in Grand Turks can only be described as one of the most relaxing, enjoyable and best experiences I have ever had. First off, we were greeted at the airport by Jack who Drew had prearranged to pick us up. He was so nice, and made our arrival very pleasant. On the way to the Bungalow, his son (who drove us) told us all about the island, and the do’s and dont’s for the week. The locals are so nice, love their island as well as enjoy telling you the history and nobody every bothered us during our stay. In fact, the local property caretaker checked on us during the week via the house cell phone to make sure we had everything we needed, after we called her upon our arrival to ask a question about grocery store hours. This was very pleasant as she and her husband were so helpful in answering our questions, but were not overbearing or invading our privacy. We ate out every night except for the night after we went fishing with Tim of Crystal Seas Adventures. We caught 2 Blackfin Tuna and cooked them on the Bungalow grill. The restaurants the owner provided on his list were perfect as we tried and different one each night. The Bohio was by far our favorite place to eat, but we also enjoyed Konky Joe’s, The Osprey, and the new Pizza & Beer garden at the Turks Head Inn & Mansion. The AC in each bedroom was so nice for sleeping, and the constant easterly breeze through the house made the entire bungalow so pleasant. The amenities both sides offer are perfect for a relaxing week. Mr. Drew has done an exceptional job providing things to his guest. The beach chairs are very nice, the snorkeling gear was fun to have, and the bikes were fun for exploring close to the house. We rented a golf cart from Nathan and got a great price. We explored the island almost every day and highly recommend the golf cart. After reading reviews on here, water shoes (chaco’s) are a must because the sea urchins and rocks can cut your feet. The beach is so relaxing that you can always find a spot to set up the chairs and avoid sea weed, urchins, and the rocks. This is a vacation I will never forget and cannot wait to book our next trip to Beachside Bungalow again soon. Also, we had some concerns before booking our vacation, and Drew the owner could not have been any more helpful. He took his time answering all of our questions, and making sure we were ready for our trip of a lifetime.

  • Stayed: June 2015
  • Submitted:
  • Source: VRBO

A vacation that we will always remember as an adventure

My Wife and two college age daughters stayed in the large side of the Bungalow in June of 2015. We researched VRBO for a family beach getaway off the beaten path. This certainly filled the bill. The Bungalow, as it is known by the locals, is very nice and comfortable, not a resort, but certainly well equipped. The AC in the bedrooms was nice for sleeping, however the breezes on the beach, the Tee Key huts, the front porch and the back porch were medicinal. The beach is white powder sand and the beach combing was incomparable to anything we have experiences anywhere in the US. We found 5 or more conch shells every morning along with hundreds of other shells! The water is gin clear. Water shoes are a must as the coral will cut your feet and there are a lot of sea urchins. The ride to the bungalow reveals a quite little island that is laid back and slow paced. The ride takes you through the poorer part of the island that is somewhat alarming, but every capitalist society will have this and it helps you to put life in perspective. We rented a golf cart from Nathan – You must negotiate with him to get a good price. We explored the island thoroughly. Everyone waves and says Hello. The people of GT are so kind and friendly and love to talk to visitors. On “Ship days”, there were some people on the beach and roads and some Caribbean music in the air. A few tourist would walk the beach and the boats were steady taking snorkelers to the wall. On “no ship” days, we had one of the best beaches in the world completely to ourselves. The house faces west, so the sunset’s were awe inspiring. We chartered a fishing trip with Screaming Reels charter for a morning an caught a 45 lb yellow fin that we ate on for three days cooked on Drew’s new grill. We visited the island monuments and ate out at the sandbar, Irv’s and Bohio’s – all were fantastic. This is a special place that will most likely develop some over the next few years. We will never forget it.

  • Stayed: June 2015
  • Submitted:
  • Source: VRBO

Owner response: Thanks for such a wonderful review! Definitely bring some sort of water shoes if you plan on walking on the coral. When there are sea urchins about, that’s their home. Sometimes though, we don’t even have any – I’m not sure what causes them to be plentiful sometimes and nonexistent others. There are plenty of sandy areas to walk out in the ocean too, with neither coral or urchins – enter in just down the beach to the right. See you again next year!

Relaxing

 

We had the best most relaxing time. The belongers( locals) were great, I felt safe to get out on the golf cart by myself as a woman. Great house, Great location, Great owners. Sunset off the back porch. Booking through here was a breeze. If i had any questions, Drew was there to answer them. The island is laid back, the “potcakes” dogs bread on Turk are the best. The house was upscale and has everything you need. The only draw back was the back porch needs fans. Looks like there are wires. So this may be a work in progress. We had a group of 4 and had a fantastic time. The water was so clear, snorkeling is right there. We brought two round tubes to float with. I would recommend that you bring something so that you can float. Lots of local restaurants to eat at and the local fish guys comes in every day with grouper, red snapper between two and Three. I would recommend this site, this owner to anyone wanting to get a way to a beach Island. Away from the the fast pace of of everyday life.

  • Stayed: May 2015

  • Submitted:

  • Source: VRBO

Sooo Relaxing!

 

We stayed at the Beachside Bungalow for a week at the end of January 2015. It was amazing! It’s a very slow paced relaxing island which is just what we were searching for. The bungalow was great. The only slight downside was the internet does not perform very well at all. But honestly, that wasn’t a big issue. It’s fast enough to upload photos which is about all I wanted to do. The rest was just perfect. We stayed on the larger side. It had plenty of room. We really didn’t spend much time inside. It’s so beautiful outside and on the island as a whole we were only inside to fix meals and sleep. The time we were at the bungalow besides sleeping we either spent on the porch or the beach out front. And as we were leaving they were adding palm top shade out on the beachfront. A nice addition for our next trip! The use of the bikes were a HUGE addition. We used them every day and rode all over the island. We had the good fortune of meeting a couple that lived on the island our first day in and so we learned a little about the island real quick and really got to take advantage of our week there. I just can’t say enough positive things about it. I hope that we can visit time and time again. It was a wonderful experience. Go and enjoy it!

  • Stayed: January 2015
  • Submitted:
  • Source: VRBO

Perfect Family Holiday!!

 

We stayed at Beachside Bungalow for two weeks over Christmas & New Years. We loved everything about it and couldn’t have asked for a better holiday. The house was well equipped with everything we needed. The beach was beautiful and very quiet. We enjoyed swimming, snorkelling, strolling on the beach, biking, putting mileage on our little golf cart and just hanging out on the porch overlooking the gorgeous blue & turquoise water, watching the sunset and sipping our pina coladas. Our favourite restaurants were Bohio (we had a wonderful Christmas dinner and New Years Eve there), Osprey & The Sandbar. We found the locals to be incredibly friendly. Its a very quiet place, which is what we were looking for. It was a perfect holiday and we would have rebooked immediately for next year but of course it is already rented! Drew was a most pleasant and helpful host. My husband doesn’t want me to post this because he says it will never be available for us to rent! If you’re looking for a quiet, idyllic beach holiday, this is it.

  • Stayed: December 2014

  • Submitted:

  • Source: VRBO

Fantastic cottage with a stunning view

 

We landed on Grand Turk coming from Provo and was met at the airport. We were then driven to the cottage and got useful information on the way. We came a bit early but the cottage was finished cleaned in advance. The exterior and interior of this very nice house is actually even better in reality than it looks on the pictures (yes I know…the pictures are fantastic). We stayed in the large apartment and to our surprise when we opened the door, it was bigger than you could see on the pictures. We did not have much contact with the owners, mainly because we did not have any problems with either the house or the booking. If you are reading this and are not certain if you would like to go here or to Provo, well, it is a fairly easy choice. And on Grand Turk I think we managed to get the best house. Thank you Drew and Joanie for a very nice stay in your house.

  • Stayed: January 2015

  • Submitted:

  • Source: VRBO

We loved it!

To celebrate our 10th anniversary, we searched for a spot that was easy to get to, affordable, but offered stunning views, clear water and comfortable accommodations. We certainly found this and more in the Beachside Bungalow on Grand Turk! Keep in mind, though, that you are renting a home and not a hotel room, so expect to be “on your own” rather than in a pampered environment. But, that’s exactly we wanted – a VERY comfortable, private setting that felt like “home” in the midst of paradise.

  • Stayed: December 2014
  • Submitted:
  • Source: VRBO

A superb time on Grand Turk

My wife and I found paradise a few weeks ago on Grand Turk at the Beachside Bungalow. Amazing island, amazing house, and an amazing beach right outside your backdoor. The owner describes Grand Turk as the Caribbean of 40 years ago, and that description is spot on. There’s TV, A/C, and cell phones, but everything else about this place feels like a step back in time. Just a laid back, quiet little island with no hustle and bustle. At times, I felt like I could be in a Hemingway novel. The beach felt like it belonged only to us. We barely saw anyone the entire week. The house is fantastic. Every modern amenity you need, but it still feels like a beach house. In fact, it felt like our beach house. The beds were comfortable and the towels were nice and thick. Coffee maker, blender and full-size oven work great. We went for the larger side and got the washer and dryer which afforded us the luxury of packing light. The back porch was our favorite place about the house. A big, spacious area to sit back and relax with a good book in the evening, or to take a break from the sun during the day, yet still enjoy the view. And the view is outstanding! Being on the west side of the island, you’d be hard-pressed to find a better sunset anywhere. Just as stunning as the sunset, is the sea. You get lost in the different shades of blue. It’s so clear, which makes for great snorkeling. When we wanted a change of scenery, we explored the island on bikes. There’s a great beach bar/grill down the road called Sandbar. We ended up there several times on our rides, either for lunch, dinner or just a rum punch to relax and take a break from riding. There are several other good places to eat, as well. Bohio (right up the beach from the house) was the nicest meal we had. The Secret Garden was also good. And we walked to the grocery store down the road from the house for the rest of our meals. All in all, a great way to celebrate a 40th birthday (not naming any names of course honey)!

  • Stayed: November 2014
  • Submitted:
  • Source: VRBO

“Amazing view in a beautiful home!!”

We had a wonderful stay in the beachside bungalow! The house itself was immaculate! It was our first time to Grand Turk and we loved it. We thoroughly enjoyed the quiet, secluded island life. We also loved the way the atmosphere changed when the ships docked. It was the best of both worlds. The water is like no other! Absolutely gorgeous! We had never snorkeled but we fell in love with this new activity during our stay! Highly recommend a boating trip out to swim with the sting rays and dive for conch! Trevor aka “Meat” at Bohio was awesome! The owner, Drew has the house set up for a great, relaxing getaway. Great beds and comfy living area. There was a warm breeze during the day but the bedrooms were plenty cool at night. If(when) we go back I will take fewer clothes. We skipped our nicer clothing and wore swim suits and cover ups most of the trip!:) The island is very casual. I’ll take more groceries since they are quiet a bit more expensive on the island. Overall our stay was wonderful. We miss it and hope to return soon!

  • Stayed: October 2014
  • Submitted:
  • Source: VRBO

An incomparable experience, if Grand Turk is your speed

I had the time of my life staying in the Beachside Bungalow on Grand Turk this year with my sister and her fiancee. Drew (the owner) has created an oasis on the island, with casual island elegance and a heart-stopping beach and vista. The three of us had reserved the Sea Gull unit, the larger side of the house, which was comfortable and well-maintained. The beds and linens are comfortable, the couches and chairs likewise, without feeling too precious to enjoy. The kitchen was perfectly functional and large enough for the three of us to be present and productive. The back doors WILL be open, because the turquoise waters and soft sand are only steps away. The back porch and yard are a fun space – we shared ours with some wonderful duplex neighbors – and the hammock is, as advertised, unbeatable. We had some trouble with the grill, but nothing that wouldn’t be solved by some engineering ingenuity we were too lazy to summon (the coals need to be closer to the grate). Also, the stones on the path to the beach are sharp! Wear your sandals or walk on the grass. To the beach. Oh, you will walk to the beach! When we arrived the beach was spotted with beautiful purple flowers, and deserted – deserted! The sea is like a warm bath, and every color of blue you could imagine. I can’t really say much more about the beach, it hurts to be away, but note that this is a real beach with real coral and sea life, including sea urchins, so be aware of your surroundings and your feet, knees, and elbows in shallow water. My future brother-in-law and I snorkeled out to the shelf a few hundred yards offshore and saw barracuda, rays, and a nurse shark, but the trek back can be exhausting, and in the shallows, big arm movements can be treacherous! Grand Turk is a beautiful island to be sure, but there are really two Grand Turks; with a ship in port and without a ship in port. When the cruise ship is in, the island is bustling. All restaurants are open, steel drums are tinging, and tourists are roaming every unexplored inch of the island. It’s worth checking the ship schedule ahead of your trip and making your plans accordingly. Drew was very responsive in all of my online interactions and highly professional through the entire process. He truly wants you to enjoy your time at the property and is the best kind of contact you could ask for – because he was on site when I checked out, he drove me to the airport!

  • Stayed: September 2014
  • Submitted:
  • Source: VRBO

Owner response: John, So glad you had a wonderful time at our house! After I dropped you off at the airport I came back to the house and re-engineered the BBQ grille. I added 2 inch tall concrete blocks to the bottom where the coals rest which effectively makes them closer to the grilling grate. It cooks perfectly now without having to have a huge mound of charcoal, thanks for the suggestion.

Be Careful

I just returned from spending 10 days at Beachside Bungalow. We went as a family of 4 (two daughters in their mid 20’s). The bungalow is tastefully furnished and on a lovely beach. We were in the large side of the bungalow for most of the time but had to move to the smaller side toward the end of our stay as the larger side had been double booked. We found the smaller side too small for all of us. There is a noticeable difference between the two units. Unfortunately, after the first few days, we were robbed. My husband and I were out for an early morning bike ride and our daughters stayed back at the bungalow. One was asleep and the other was drifting in and out of sleep in the hammock on the patio. The robber hopped over the short wall of the patio and took two backpacks and the contents. When we discovered what had happened, we decided we would not report it to the police because we didn’t want to have to deal with the inconvenience. However, the police showed up at our door as a neighbour had also been robbed and reported the incident. Over the next 3 days, there were at least 3 visits from the police and property manager as they tried to secure the surveillance camera information to track down the robber. My husband had to go to the police station plus make two visits to court. So, a good chunk of time was spent following up on the incident, even though we did not want to get involved. After the incident, we made sure that we securely locked up the bungalow at all times, even if we were out on the patio. Another thing we were not happy about is that recently a cruise centre amusement park has been set up directly next to the bungalow. Each day that a cruise ship was due to arrive, they opened up the park and started playing music. Employees would arrived early in the morning to get things ready and they would turn up their stereo system volume to high, playing music that was not consistent with music that we like. Quite often it was Christmas music blaring away, much as you would hear in a mall (this was late November). The music would stay on until after all the cruise ship tourists left and the employees had finished cleaning up (usually around 5pm). Also, a few of the people visiting the park would spill over onto the beachfront property directly in front of the bungalow, making it less private than we were expecting it to be.

  • Stayed: November 2014
  • Submitted:
  • Source: VRBO

Owner response: Joyce, We are so sorry you had an unpleasant experience on our island, we try really hard to make each stay spectacular as evidenced by the previous 29  five star reviews. Regarding your first comment, we weren’t double booked on the larger side, it just wasn’t available for your whole visit. Another guest had already booked their 10 days, 2 of which were when you were requesting. We let you know ahead of time you could either move your trip dates around, not book at all, or have your last 2 days in the smaller side. You chose the last option. Thanks for working with us, and yes, after staying in the larger side for a week the smaller side would feel a little tight comparatively. Your next issue is clearly the important one. We are terribly heartbroken you had your things taken from the back porch. The 12 year old boy who did it should know better and I’m so happy our excellent police force was able to catch and arrest him within 2 hours of the crime and get your belongings back to you. I am also very thankful for your willingness to report it and work with the police after we talked the first time on the the phone. We needed to send a strong message out to everyone on our tiny little island that this behavior will not be tolerated, that there is nowhere to hide on such a small island, and that crimes will be prosecuted. I’m also thrilled the security cameras that I personally installed were an integral part in his final confession. With such a swift and effective response, maybe this will end up being the first and last home burglary on our little island. Your last issue is a beach bar and snorkel excursion venue, open limited hours (6 to 8 per day) a few lots down from our house. Cruise ship patrons sign up to experience our island and come here when cruise ships are on the island (usually 3 to 6 days per week). Usually somewhere between 20 and 50 people show up to have drinks, lay out on their beach, and snorkel in the water, hardly an “amusement park”. Sometimes we can hear the music playing for a few hours during the day, sometimes not at all. Most of our guests haven’t minded and on days they’re open actually go down the beach, hang out, and get drinks at the bar. Sorry it wasn’t your cup of tea. From all of the phone conversations and checking up on you, it still sounds like you had a wonderful time, please come back again for a less drama filled vacation.

Extreme Relaxation

My wife and I spent a week here for our 10th wedding anniversary. We have 3 kids and busy lives and were looking for a place we could rest, relax, and enjoy quality time with each other. This was the PERFECT getaway for us. We stayed in the smaller side (Sandpiper). The Bungalow is very clean and beautifully decorated. It has a Pottery Barn beach house feel to it. It was very comfortable and had everything we needed. We brought some food with us and ate breakfast and lunch most days at the bungalow and went out for dinner (though we did cook dinner one night). The kitchen has everything you need to make some meals for yourself. The views are simply breathtaking. I spent many hours reading in the hammock. We also could walk right out into the water in front of the house to snorkel and see all kinds of fish and coral. You can get almost anywhere on the island riding the bikes that come with the bungalow. We did rent a golf cart our last day there to explore the cruise center and the light house. We also drove ourselves to the airport in the golf cart on our way home! The locals are super friendly and we felt very safe the entire time we were there. Some of our favorite things during the week were: ice cream from Irv’s cafe, snorkeling the reefs and Gibs Cay with Captain Tim of Crystal Seas Adventures, fish and chips from the Sandbar restaurant, the unbelievable bright shades of blue of the water, and sitting in beach chairs watching the sunset each night. In general, the island feels very slow and laid back. When the cruise ships are docked (4-5 days a week from roughly 8am – 3pm), there are definitely more people around exploring and enjoying the island. But even then it never feels crowded or rushed. The owners are super friendly and the local property manager was always available to help with any questions we had. If you are looking for a laid back, relaxing getaway on one of the most beautiful islands in the world, this is the place for you.

  • Stayed: September 2014
  • Submitted:
  • Source: VRBO

Beachside Bungalow is an AWESOME place to stay

We stayed one week at the Beachside Bungalow on Grand Turk. The place was perfect for my wife and I on our getaway. BB is located on the north end of town on a beautiful white sand beach with warm turquoise water. You can put your beach chairs next to the water enjoy reading a book, float on a raft or snorkel right in your backyard. If you want to relax in the shade there is a perfect hammock on the patio to enjoy a fresh pina colada from the blender. We stayed in the small side which has a full kitchen, WiFi, cable tv and AC in the bedrooms. The place comes with 2 nice bikes that we used to ride to both the far south end of the island to the cruise center and north to the lighthouse. We would ride bikes into town to get groceries, the local fish market to get fresh fish, conch and lobster, to at night to dinner using a headlamp. I loved Grand Turk because it is a very mellow island compared to Provo and it also has some of the best diving in the world. I did 5 dives with Blue Water during my stay and it was world class. I would also recommend to take the trip to Gibbs Cay. Drew has thought of everything when he remodeled this place and I guarantee that you will love it. Thanks Randy LaDue – San Diego Sports Magazine

  • Stayed: September 2014
  • Submitted:
  • Source: VRBO

Vacation for the ages!

This vacation is one for the ages. As mentioned on previous reviews, the pictures does not do justice to this beautiful place and they are absolutely right. The place is magical, the view, the beach, the water, everything is perfect. There are also several things that you can enjoy – snorkeling, biking, (lots of) eating, and of course relaxing. Truly a memorable vacation in a memorable place. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed: September 2014
  • Submitted:

Quiet and Relaxing Getaway

The house was lovely and perfect for a relaxing week away where we could disconnect from everything. The island is very small and quiet when there were no cruise ships in. The beaches were beautiful and fun to explore, perfect for snorkeling and lounging in the sun.

  • Stayed: August 2014
  • Submitted:
  • Source: VRBO

A piece of heaven on earth!

Saying the Beachside Bunglow is a beautiful beach front property does not do it justce! The pictures allow you to see the beauty but do not capture the feeling you get when staying at this lovely well appointed home. We went as two families and rented both sides of the home. Each side was fully equped to accommodate a family of four. Everything from the pots & pans to the down pillows on the beds made this home not only functional but comfortable and pleasant. Everything we needed to enjoy the beach and the island were provided. There were plenty of beach chairs, snorkel gear, & bicycles. We had a problem with one of the bicycles & made a phone call & someone was ther the next day to fix it. I highly recommend bringing water shoes to avoid a trip to the hospital (which we learned first hand was clean & and modern). If your traveling with teenagers, as we did, pack food! Food is very expensive & choices limited. We enjoyed dining out at Bohio’s where the chef was first class and the owners most welcoming! We also had a fantastic BBQ at the Osprey. For a less expensive meal & a chance to get meet the locals I highly recommend Barbies & Doo Doo’s. The Beachside Bungalow is deffinately a place to relax and unwind and experience a true island getaway! Grand Turks offers breathtaking beaches & is an ocean paradise. It is not the place to go if your looking for nightlife or a “resort experience”.

  • Stayed: August 2014
  • Submitted:
  • Source: VRBO

Recommended for: Girls getaway, Age 55+, Romantic getaway

Owner response: Thank you Tracy for such a gracious review. To answer the question everyone has – what did she step on?!?! It was coral, so if you do intend on walking on the coral areas instead of the sandy areas, please bring some kind of foot protection. Also watch out for the Sea Urchins and their prickly spines near the coral.

Perfect Place in Grand Turk

Water, Sand, Sun & Island Breeze. Throw in the perfect beach house and a few donkeys and you have the best trip of your life. Our trip to Grand Turks was simply incredible. It is a wonderful place to go and unplug from the world. We celebrated our 25th wedding anniversary and our goal was to get away from the hectic pace of life. The beach house is exactly as described on the website. It is very private & romantic. It is beautifully decorated, fully furnished and very clean. All you need to do is show up. All of the furnishings were excellent – linens, towels, kitchen accessories, furniture, washer & dryer, bikes, snorkeling gear, beach chairs…. all perfect and well thought out by Drew & Joanie, the owners. Everything we needed was provided. There is also a book in the house that provides all types of information about the island. Things to do, places to go, restaurants, shops and the business cards of the people on the island that offer different services – snorkeling, fishing, taxi… perfect to help you plan your time on the island. Again, it is well thought out by the owners so you can make the most of your time on the island. We used the bikes and snorkeling gear every day. In the mornings we would bike to all of the local sites and just explore the island – cruise center, lighthouse, flamingos. The bikes were perfect and the snorkeling gear was even better than what was offered on one of our paid snorkeling excursions. We fished one day and cooked the yellow fin tuna at the house. The cruise ships were docked in the mornings and that created a little activity on the island. By afternoon, the ships would leave and the island felt like it was ours. The beaches seemed like they were private and we would snorkel and enjoy the water. Every afternoon was spent watching some of the most incredible sunsets we had ever seen. Every sunset was different but all were beautiful. The island is very slow paced. They call it “island time.” The locals are friendly and the dogs, donkeys and horses that roam the island just add to the charm of the place. I would recommend the house and the island to anyone who wants to get away from it all. It’s the perfect place to go and relax.

  • Stayed: July 2014
  • Submitted:
  • Source: VRBO

Breathtaking Views and Calm Waters

Jacques Cousteau once said, “The sea, once it casts its spell, holds one in its net of wonder forever.” The beauty of Grand Turk will for sure hold us in its net of wonder forever. The breathtaking views of turquoise waters that shimmer beneath skies of blue and sun of golden yellow and orange are all at once breathtaking and calming. My husband and I along with another couple were able to escape the hurried pace of technology and life to this Beachside Bungalow for a week. It is a remote place where multiple times we were reminded we were on “Island time” meaning slow, easy and relaxed. No one is in a hurry at Grand Turk and it is a refreshing reminder to slow down and enjoy the scenery! So if you need to hit pause from life and reality and let the sea capture your heart with the wonder of its beauty Grand Turk is your place!

  • Stayed: July 2014

  • Submitted:

  • Source: VRBO

Great time in Turks

We used both sides of the Beachside Bungalow with 3 other couples and it was fantastic. Very clean, very private, andvery relaxing. We would recommend this HIGHLY! Great snorkeling. Probably would not go fishing again thru Jojo’s service but that has nothing to do with this great place.

  • Stayed: May 2014

  • Submitted:

  • Source: VRBO

Recommended for: Families with young children, Sightseeing, Girls getaway, Tourists without a car, Adventure seekers, Romantic getaway

Owner response: A four couples trip using both sides, I bet that was a BLAST!

Relaxing In Paradise

 

We thoroughly enjoyed our time at the Beachside Bungalow. Everything in the house was new and clean, just as advertised. The beds were as comfortable as any place we have stayed…very restful. The snorkeling was great right in front of the house. It was wild to swim out to the shelf and peer over the edge. The water could not have been more beautiful. We really enjoyed having a nice restaurant just a short walk down the beach as well as grilling the fresh fish we bought from the local fishermen. Hanging out at the Cruise Center was a nice change of pace. We returned home well-rested and blessed to have experienced a new island destination.

  • Stayed: May 2014

  • Submitted:

  • Source: VRBO

Paradise Found!

Truly a perfect place to enjoy a peaceful and relaxing vacation. The pictures don’t do the place justice! Everything we needed was provided – amazing how they thought of every little detail – even down to snorkeling gear. Snorkeled every day – just walked out the door and straight to the beach! Also enjoyed exploring the island – the lighthouse, the museum, the market! The locals and the donkeys were quite friendly and seemed to enjoy having us on the island – not all islands are so welcoming! We hope to return some day and would definetely recommend it to friends and family. The island and this property will not disappoint you!

  • Stayed: May 2014
  • Submitted:
  • Source: VRBO

Awesome Island Trip!!!

I don’t usually write reviews – but I just had to in this case. The pictures can’t capture the beauty of this place. The ocean colors are outrageous and the beach bungalow is beautifully appointed with everything you need. The bed was one of the most comfortable I’ve ever slept in along with the luxury high thread count sheets. We had perfect weather the whole week. We enjoyed biking through town, to dinner, and to the lighthouse. The latter was a workout but worth the effort for the shells we found and the pink flamingos we saw while there. Snorkeling was fun!- I would recommend water shoes to help you navigate the coral. We enjoyed walking to Bohios down the beach for dinner. They make a mean Key Lime pie and give generous servings. The native people are friendly and we felt very safe. Docile donkeys and dogs just added to island’s charm. This was a very relaxing and delightful trip!!!

  • Stayed: May 2014
  • Submitted:
  • Source: VRBO

What an 80th birthday!

What a shame it took me 80 years to find the perfect vacation spot. I’ve been to Hawaii but for relaxation, beautiful water and quiet beaches this has Hawaii beat by a longshot. Beautiful weather and cool breezes made walking on the beach very pleasant and the sand never got burning hot like in Florida. I stayed on the larger side which is beautifully decorated and has every possible thing you could need. The BBQ grille outside was a great feature available for grilling fish from the fishermen just down the way. Shelling for hours on end at the lighthouse was terrific, but don’t try to bring back too much because your bags will be too heavy! I am already planning a group of friends to go back with me – hopefully before my 85th! Thanks Drew and Joanie for sharing your wonderful home.

  • Stayed: June 2014
  • Submitted:
  • Source: VRBO

Rachael O’Brien

Absolutely wonderful experience . Great beach, friendly locals, gorgeous cottage, convenient amenities and access to fun bars and restaurants!

  • Stayed: May 2014
  • Submitted:
  • Source: VRBO

Recommended for: People with disabilities, Families with young children, Sightseeing, Girls getaway, Tourists without a car, Adventure seekers, Age 55+, Romantic getaway, Families with teenagers

Owner response: Thanks for a great quick review! I liked the one you posted on our Beachside Bungalow Facebook page even better – “Best vacation of our lives! The house was gorgeous-it has anything anyone would need to enjoy the luxuries of a beach vacation while giving the feeling of a comfy cottage setting, the water crystal clear, the locals are friendly as can be. We will be returning !”

A hidden gem in the Caribbean!

 

A group of four of us stayed on the larger side from April 5-12. We had a fantastic, relaxing time. The location is perfect for walking to get groceries as well as into town on cruise ship days to check out the vendors and people watch. We had a great time lounging on the beach, walking, swimming and snorkeling. We even watched humpback whales go by one afternoon! There are a few good restaurants in the area. We ate at the Bohio (BBQ night on Saturdays is very good) and the Osprey (great views!). The bikes are great for exploring the island and we used them to check out the cruise ship terminal and the light house. This is a very quiet island where the most activity we might see on the beach is a donkey strolling by. If you are looking to get away from it all, this is definitely the place for you!.

  • Stayed: April 2014
  • Submitted:
  • Source: VRBO

    Turn the world off

     

    my wife and I celebrated our 25th anniversary for 2 weeks on grand turk. we were able to completely relax and turn off the world. completely recharged and relaxed. even after 2 weeks we didn’t want to go home. small quiet island, no nite life to speak of. if your looking to be wild and crazy this is not the island. walk, ride bikes, no need to rent a car. drew’s house is brand new inside. everything is perfect. you cant beat waking up to the view out back every day.

    • Stayed: February 2014
    • Submitted:
    • Source: VRBO

Paradise

 

This house is exactly as advertised; a haven from whatever’s going on in your life. If you want to enjoy the luxury of a well-appointed, well-stocked beach house, with a spectacular view to greet you every morning and a perch to look for the green flash every night as the big ball of golden sun dips into the ocean, this is it. I stayed in this house for a month; a month of much needed healing and rest after a long, stressful career, and I can say it did the trick. Biking into town and all over the island, walking a couple blocks down the road to see what the fishermen brought in that night that I could cook up for supper, walking up the beach in the other direction to a lovely resort with a beachside bar and live music on the weekends, and just the sound of the surf right outside, what more could I have asked for? When I needed a teakettle, I made one phone call and it was delivered that afternoon. Drew and his caretaker were enthusiastic about making sure I had everything I needed and all the information I could use to make my trip everything I wanted. The location was perfect for peace and quiet, yet a 10 minute bike ride or 20 minute walk took me to all of the shops, restaurants and dive shops on the island. If this sounds like what you’re looking for, look no further!

  • Stayed: January 2014
  • Submitted:
  • Source: VRBO

Paradise all day long!!!

This charming cottage sits right on the beautiful carribean. It’s paradise all day long, right out the back door…….truly a vacation getaway!!! The property and cottage provided all that we needed, besides being spotless clean and wonderfully decorated. It was very well equipped including bikes for daily bike rides. Wonderful!! The owners were helpful in every way and provided all kinds of information regarding activities and places to eat and who to contact while we were staying there…..they were extremely helpful and very kind!!

  • Stayed: January 2014
  • Submitted:
  • Source: VRBO

Relaxation Extraordinaire!!

We visited Grand Turk via cruise ship two years ago and decided we had to return for an extended stay. We chose this accommodation due to the excellent reviews and can assure you we have absolutely NO regrets! This was without a doubt one of the most relaxing vacations we have had in a very long time. The house is everything a person could want to get away from the hustle and bustle of everday life or the Carribean resort crowds. We saw very few people on the beach during our week long stay. The locals are as friendly as can be and always willing to talk. A car is not needed on the island if you like to ride bikes which are available at the house or walk around to explore. Everything you need is a short distance away. We were very sorry to be leaving Grand Turk and especially this rental unit. We will definitely return in the future. We highly recommend this location and rental. Any questions feel free to email me.dysg@sympatico.ca

  • Stayed: January 2014
  • Submitted:
  • Source: VRBO

 

Best beach rental we have ever stayed in!

The prefect house on a perfect island!! The house is right on the most beautiful, quiet, private beach on the west side of the island. Every morning we would wake up and walk along the deserted beach and have first pick at the amazing shells, corals and sand dollars. At night we would relax and play cards on the back porch surrounded by twinkle lights or cozy up by the fire pit we built out of coral on the beach. The house is decorated so well and has all the necessities you need to cook at home or you can bike down to one of the restaurants and mingle. If you walk down the beach a 1/4 mile, you’ll find the fishermen coming in in the afternoon. We bought fresh grouper, lobster and conch throughout the week that were delicious! I can confidently say we stayed at the best place on the island!!! All of the locals would swoon when we told them what house we were staying in. All in all, an amazing trip and amazing accommodations! We also rented a golf cart to get around further parts of the island (the lighthouse, the east side and into town). We even got to see three humpback whales from the lighthouse!! The scuba diving and snorkeling were amazing (lots of sea turtles)! Grand Turk Diving, a trip to Gibbs Cay to swim with stingrays and the Sandbar Restaurant are a must as well!!

  • Stayed: December 2013
  • Submitted:
  • Source: VRBO

Wonderful!

This place is the definition of relaxation! After months of wedding planning, I cannot think of a better way to relax. We had such an amazing time riding bikes, relaxing by the beach, talking to the locals, and hanging out downtown. Everybody was so incredibly nice! The house is located in the perfect place. It’s close enough to ride the bikes into town but far enough to be away from all the cruise tours. You will not be disappointed staying here! We will be back!!!

  • Stayed: January 2014
  • Submitted:
  • Source: VRBO

Recommended for: Families with young children, Sightseeing, Girls getaway, Tourists without a car, Adventure seekers, Age 55+, Romantic getaway, Families with teenagers

Owner response: Honeymooners! We are so happy our first wedding couple had a private and relaxing time. While we were remodeling/preparing our vacation home, we were thinking how we wished we had known about or gone to a place like this for our honeymoon. We just knew it was going to be a perfect, romantic getaway – we’re so glad you came!

A great place for New Years!!

The down side with telling you about Beachside Bungalow is that it will make it harder to rent in the future but here we go. It is the perfect place to unwind. The house is appointed beautifully with a terrific beachy theme; driftwood, shells, cool caribbean color scheme and who doesn’t love hammocks. There was plenty of room for 4 adults. We rented both sides for a little more space but we congregated in the large side for everything. We woke each morning with the sun, took a walk up the perfect beach, rinsed off in the outside shower and went in for breakfast. Later there was snorkling, biking, exploring and of course talking to the locals about the best way to prepare fresh conch, fish and lobster. The house has everything you need for cooking except a mallet to tenderize the conch but then an empty wine bottle works fine. We are not crowd goers but there was plenty of that along with music etc at the cruise center. If you are looking for the perfect combination of above and below water, this is the house.

  • Stayed: December 2013
  • Submitted:
  • Source: VRBO

Excellent place!

My husband and stayed the second week of December. We needed a relaxing vacation and it was just that. The house was beautiful and clean, and right on the beach just as described. Cruise ships came in every day, but had little to no impact on where we were. The beaches were beautiful and the water was clear blue and warm. We enjoyed snorkeling immensely, and we’re able to do it off of the beach. We would recommend paying for a snorkel trip if you want to go out to the reef. ALS you definitely should rent a car or golf cart. We chose the golf cart, you can get everywhere you need to an if you rent from Nathan’s he will bring it to the Bungalow and pick it up there as well, this was definitely a plus. Thr restaurant at the Bohio dive resort has excellent food but a bit expensive, but you can walk down the beach to it. We enjoyed many quiet walks on the beach to the restaurant and returned under the night stars. It was beautiful. The grocery store was also within walking distance, if you need supplies. Everyone was unbelievably friendly. The only drawback were the gnats. We enjoyed sitting on the back patio with our morning coffee and at sunset, but the gnats were severe. We definitely recommend bringing insect repellant. We tried to buy it there,but found that the stores were out of it or did not carry it. If you fly with a carry on you can purchase a 2-3 oz. Off spray, it’s worth bringing. Otherwise it was one of the best vacations we’ve had. We would recommend going. Drew, the owner was great, he answer all of our questions unbelievably quickly, we had the pleasure of meeting him and he is great, and honest. We couldn’t ask for more. If you go you will not regret it!

  • Stayed: December 2013
  • Submitted:
  • Source: VRBO

Recommended for: Families with young children, Girls getaway, Age 55+, Romantic getaway, Families with teenagers

Owner response: Marie and Charlie, It was great meeting you too – I’m so happy you enjoyed yourselves at our Bungalow! Sorry about the gnats, they seem to come and go with no rhyme or reason, but you’re right – a little bug spray solves that problem. I’ve only experienced them about 20% of the time I have been here over the years. I’ll put a reminder about bug spray in my welcome email I send out the week before guests arrive. On another note, the bikes finally arrived this week, but I bet you still would have preferred the golf cart. Thanks for such a gracious review! Drew & Joanie

Perfect island, perfect place, perfect vacay!

Beachside Bungalow was the perfect choice for my much needed vacation! The water was crystal clear and the home is absolutely beautiful! It is decorated in a welcoming, beach home-away-from-home style. I loved all the personal touches and the coastal colors that are throughout. The kitchen is furnished with everything you need and has so much space! The furniture and luxurious bedding made it easy to sit back and relax. Whether you want to sit on the beach and read or participate in water sports, you have great options. The most amazing thing is that both of those activities are literally steps out the back door. Put on your snorkeling gear and simply start swimming! There is sea life and beauty to be found right on your beach. Because Grand Turk is less known than other Caribbean islands there is so much local culture to explore. Great shops and local art, original restaurants with great Caribbean flair, and a beautiful landscape make it an ideal escape. Don’t miss the short trip to the lighthouse. The views are spectacular! I would chose Beachside Bungalow every time!!

  • Stayed: November 2013
  • Submitted:
  • Source: VRBO

A little piece of paradise

Beachside Bungalow is a little piece of paradise. It is situated righ on the beach, a very private and white sand beach, with the clearest blue water I have ever seen. It is the perfect getaway to relax and read a book, or to explore through snorkeling, paddle boarding, walking the beaches, shopping the cute island shops, riding bikes. The island itself is small, 1×6 miles, and quaint. The people who live there are friendly. My favorite part – the wild donkeys strolling all over the place!

  • Stayed: November 2013
  • Submitted:
  • Source: VRBO

Paradise Found

I recently spent a week at Beachside Bungalow and cannot begin to express my gratitude. First, this property is beautiful, comfortable and peaceful. I adored walking out the back door and onto the beach. From relaxing by the ocean in the morning to watching breathtaking sunsets in the evening, this beachfront home was a perfect oasis. Being there was soul refreshing! Another thing I loved was how varied the experiences available on the island were. I love secluded walks along the beach and finding gorgeous shells. I did that. I also love to people watch, listen to music and kick back poolside with a drink. I did that too. I adore hiking trails that offer stunning ocean views. I did that. Shopping local vendors? Did that. Walking to dinner on the beach? Did that. Paddle boarding? Did that. Trivia night with the locals? Watched my friends do that. 🙂 This island absolutely has something for everyone! I came to this vacation thinking it would likely be my only trip to Grand Turk. I left with two trips already in the works – one for some grown-up girlfriends, another for my family of five. Beachside Bungalow enjoys the unique distinction of being the perfect place for both vacations! I simply cannot wait to get back (not to mention all the accolades I’ll receive for having found this wonderful home away from home.)

  • Stayed: November 2013
  • Submitted:
  • Source: VRBO

Girls Trip

Girls Trip!!! We all had the most fabulous time on our “private beach” at the bungalow. I was one of the early risers in the group and it was so peaceful and relaxing before 8 am enjoying a cup of coffee on the back porch. One morning I paddle boarded for an hour before anyone else was up. We all walked down the beach in both directions and collected seashells for hours. Midweek, we checked the Cruise Center’s website and saw that a Carnival cruise ship was docking and went to the cruise center to people watch and shop one day. Wild horses and donkeys leftover from the salt induststry still roam the island today are very fun to catch a glimpse of, but we were told not to get too close to the roaming “potcake” dogs as we heard they have lots of fleas and ticks. They’re all pretty skittish, so its easy enough to clap your hands and shoo them away. My favorite night was walking up the beach 300 yards to Bohio (the best restaurant on the island with the BEST rum punch) Live music by Mitch that night made it all the more special. All in all a terrific all girls trip.

  • Stayed: November 2013
  • Submitted:
  • Source: VRBO

Recommended for: Sightseeing, Girls getaway, Tourists without a car, Adventure seekers, Romantic getaway

Owner response: What a great way to get 4 girls living in 4 places across the U.S. all together! So glad you girls enjoyed your stay.

The BEST Anniversary trip!

 

My husband and I had such a fabulous time in Grand Turk! The house was beautiful, the beach was wide open, and the turquoise ocean provided the perfect backdrop for long days of doing nothing! When we weren’t just sitting, we rode bikes all over the island. We frequented the Sandbar on our bike rides for a quick snack and/or rum punch. Yum! We also rode bikes all the way down to the cruise center for “entertainment” one day. Although parts of the island are in disrepair from a hurricane a few years back, there are some beautiful landscapes and always beautiful ocean views. The people are super nice and don’t hassle you to buy things or give money like on other islands we’ve visited. No central air in the house was an initial concern, but fans and trade breezes through the double wide front and rear doors (both covered with screen doors) made it quite pleasant inside. AC in the bedroom was a huge plus! Drew, the homeowner had a cab at the airport to pick us up and tour a little bit, and there was a prepaid cell phone in the house to make local and long distance calls. The grocery store was within walking distance, but be prepared to pay island prices for your goods. They did, however, have a pretty decent selection of name brand products, so you don’t really have to go without anything. If cooking in is not your thing, there is a fabulous resort/restaurant right up the beach called Bohio. It’s a little pricey, but worth it! The Secret Garden was also good and not quite as high. Bring cash, but most places take credit cards – just be sure to alert your credit card company you’re traveling! We were here celebrating our 15 year anniversary and although we didn’t really do much (that was the whole point in the first place), there were things we planned to do that we didn’t ever get around to like, paddle-boarding, snorkeling out at the ocean drop off, or riding up to the lighthouse. I guess we’ll HAVE to go back to make the experience complete! Thanks, Drew and Joanie for sharing your piece of paradise!

  • Stayed: October 2013
  • Submitted:
  • Source: VRBO

Don’t wait

 

My wife and I don’t often have an opportunity to take vacations lasting more than a couple of days. When we found a time window for a longer out of town stay, my wife found this wonderful little piece of paradise, begged me to go. I was more than a little apprehensive about this trip. I obsessed over every detail, worried about air travel, asked for more details about the accommodations, you name it, I was worried about it. Talk about a waste of time… This was absolutely the most trouble free, relaxing, and reinvigorating vacation we’ve ever had. Travel was super easy, there was even a taxi waiting at the airport for us. Grocery shopping just down the street, and a fantastic restaurant just up the beach. We walked to dinner and back each night under the stars. The view was breathtaking, and the home was just that, it was a home. Not a room with a view, or some run down shack on the beach. This place was nothing short of spectacular. Thanks Drew! Your home exceeded our expectations and certainly helped rekindle the fire.

  • Stayed: September 2013
  • Submitted:
  • Source: VRBO

The Perfect Vacation Accommodation

 

This listing accurately describes the location, the accommodation, the local attractions. My daughter and I booked the large bungalow and stayed for 3 weeks. A home away from home. Absolutely everything we needed was available for use in the unit. We just needed to provide the food and take advantage of all the fun awaiting us. Snorkeling off the beach right out front, swimming (for hours at length) in the 84 degree water, walking the snowy white beaches for miles, strolling along the main street (5 minutes away) touring market vendors and the Grand Turk Museum. Deep Fried conch from A & E (lime green hut on the main street) is totally amazing. The Belongers of Grand Turk embrace tourists like they are family. Everyone makes you feel very welcome. As a Mother/Daughter team, travelling alone, safety was NEVER an issue. Waking to fresh brewed coffee on the back porch, over looking the ocean, with an easterly trade wind gently blowing, wild horses walking up the beach, what a perfect start to everyday. The only thing that topped of the start of the day was the dramatic sunsets every night. The cruise ships come into dock about 4 times a week. Even with a ship in town, we were hard pressed to see anyone else on ‘our beach’! Located at the north end of the island of Grand Turk, on the west side made this location secluded, quiet, and private. Yet, within a 5 minutes walk we had a grocery store and the boat launch where local fishermen brought there catch of the day in at around 3 pm everyday, ready for your picking and purchasing. They’ll even clean it for you. We snorkelled with Papa J Tours twice! We toured Gibbs Cay (30 minute boat ride away) to play with the Sting Rays, Snorkelled off the third largest Barrier Reef in the world, and dove off ‘The Wall’ (a quarter mile off shore the reef ends and you’re on top of a 7000 ft drop! Totally amazing to see and experience. The Beachside Bungalow is a perfect setting for a single or a multi family vacation. I was promised thick towels and the most comfortable bed I’d ever sleep in. The owner delivered on both promises. I have never slept so well. The great sleep alone was well worth the rental. Book your date and get ready for a vacation that will revive your soul, bring you back in touch with loved ones and definitely put a heart warming smile on your face! Much blessings for the perfect vacation at the Beachside Bungalow!

  • Stayed: August 2013
  • Submitted:
  • Source: VRBO

Recommended for: Families with young children, Sightseeing, Girls getaway, Tourists without a car, Adventure seekers, Age 55+, Romantic getaway, Families with teenagers

Owner response: We are so thrilled that our first guests had such a marvelous time. If Canada gets too cold in January, you know you can always come back!

%d bloggers like this: